Using “Beat” is boring. Give it a life.- ReWriteDr tip

A spec screenplay is a reader’s experience.   When you use the word, “beat” that experience becomes boring.  A “beat” is just a place holder when nothing happens.  Gee, that’s exciting to read.  Using a gesture or movement can actually add to your scene.  It can show character or tension.  For instance:

CARRIE: I don’t want to talk about this. (beat) I want to talk about us.

Examples of substituting “beat”.

CARRIE: I don’t want to talk about this. (smiles) I want to talk about us.

CARRIE: I don’t want to talk about this. (looks down) I want to talk about us.

CARRIE: I don’t want to talk about this. (slaps the table) I want to talk about us.

CARRIE: I don’t want to talk about this. (takes a deep breath) I want to talk about us.

Each substitution of “beat” added character or tension to the scene.

Should you never use “beat”?  95% of beats should be an action.

A “beat” shouldn’t be a pause in life; it should have a life in your script.

Leave a Reply

